Make your own free website on

Champions KO

Home Up News Quiz History Downloads Contents Contacting Us


Year 2001
Year 2000
Year 1999

Since the Wise Old Owls Yorkshire Quiz League can claim descent from the former Tetley's League, the knock-out champions can likewise cite a lineage going back 32 years to when the "Beeley Wood" of Sheffield became Yorkshire's first ever 'Champion of Champions'

In former times the competition was open only to divisional winners.  Now it is open to all who take part in the Wise Old Owls Yorkshire Quiz League.  Indeed, any pub team in Yorkshire can take part.

The 2001 'Champion of Champions' are the White Lion  of Armley in Leeds.  In finally winning the trophy (this was their third appearance in the final in five years) they made up for the disappointment of loosing an incredibly close-fought match with the Traveler's Rest of Elland in 1999.

Switching to the Branch Road Inn, the 1999 winners went on to retain the trophy in April 2000.  However, in going out in the quarter finals of the competition in 2001 (suffering a shock defeat at the hands of The Nightingale from Outwood, Wakefield) Robert Kinghorn and his team-mates failed in an attempt to emulate the three-year winning streak (1993-1995) posted by the Babes-in-the-Wood of Woodkirk.  The last named now play as the Cellar Bar of Batley. 

To take the title this year the White Lion had to dispose of the very impressive Washington Hotel of Sheffield.  The contest was far from uneven, White Lion running out winners by 67 points to 61.  Follow this link to re-live the event & view the questions.

A complete list of competition winners follows.



1968-69  Beeley Wood, Sheffield

1969-70  Mannville, Bradford

1970-71  Junction B, Rastrick

1971-72  Junction B, Rastrick

1972-73  Malt Shovel, Elland

1973-74  Upper George, Halifax

1974-75  Upper George, Halifax

1975-76  no competition held

1976-77  Jacob's Well, Bradford

1977-78  Cross Scythes, Sheffield

1978-79  Upper George A, Halifax

1979-80  Broomhill Tavern, Sheffield

1980-81  Redoubt, Wakefield

1981-82  Stag, Huddersfield

1982-83  Coach & Horses, Bradford

1983-84  Royal, Ossett

1984-85  Shears Inn, West Vale

1985-86  George B, Ossett

1986-87  Redoubt, Wakefield

1987-88  Railway B, Marsden

1988-89  Railway, Sheffield

1989-90  Railway B, Marsden

1990-91  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1991-92  Station, Hull

1992-93  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1993-94  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1994-95  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1995-96  Halfway House, Wyke*    (defeated Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk)

1996-97  Sportsman, Sheffield        (defeated White Lion, Armley)

1997-98  Station, Castleford             (defeated Sportsman, Sheffield)

1998-99  Traveler's Rest, Elland     (defeated White Lion, Armley)

Millennium Champions

2000        Branch Road Inn, Halifax (defeated New Inn, Walton)

2001        White Lion, Armely             (defeated Washington Hotel, Sheffield)


* Last of the Tetley's Champion of Champions, & so retained the old trophy

Back to top of page




Home ] Up ] Year 2001 ] Year 2000 ] Year 1999 ]

Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright Wise Old Olws 2000 & 2001 
Last modified: August 23, 2001