Make your own free website on



Since the Wise Old Owls Yorkshire Quiz League claims descent from the former Tetley's League, the knock-out champions can likewise cite a lineage going back 30 years to when the "Beeley Wood"  of Sheffield became Yorkshire's first ever "Champion of Champions".   

In 1999 the competition was won by the team from the Traveller's Rest  of Elland.  Since then the team moved to a pub in Halifax, and as the Branch Road Inn  they retained the trophy in 2000.  In winning the final of the competition on 26th April they defeated the New Inn of Walton (Wakefield) by 83 points to 48. Follow this link to re-live the event, & see the questions.

A complete list of competition winners follows.

Yorkshire's "CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS" Winners

1968-69  Beeley Wood, Sheffield

1969-70  Mannville, Bradford

1970-71  Junction B, Rastrick

1971-72  Junction B, Rastrick

1972-73  Malt Shovel, Elland

1973-74  Upper George, Halifax

1974-75  Upper George, Halifax

1975-76  no competition held

1976-77  Jacob's Well, Bradford

1977-78  Cross Scythes, Sheffield

1978-79  Upper George A, Halifax

1979-80  Broomhill Tavern, Sheffield

1980-81  Redoubt, Wakefield

1981-82  Stag, Huddersfield

1982-83  Coach & Horses, Bradford

1983-84  Royal, Ossett

1984-85  Shears Inn, West Vale

1985-86  George B, Ossett

1986-87  Redoubt, Wakefield

1987-88  Railway B, Marsden

1988-89  Railway, Sheffield

1989-90  Railway B, Marsden

1990-91  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1991-92  Station, Hull

1992-93  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1993-94  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1994-95  Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk

1995-96  Halfway House, Wyke      (defeated Babes In The Wood, Woodkirk)

1996-97  Sportsman, Sheffield        (defeated White Lion, Armley)

1997-98  Station, Castleford            (defeated Sportsman, Sheffield)

1998-99  Traveller's Rest, Elland    (defeated White Lion, Armley)

Millennium Champions

2000        Branch Road Inn, Halifax (defeated New Inn, Walton)

                                                                                                                                   Back to top of page









Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright Wise Old Olws 2000 & 2001 
Last modified: August 23, 2001